Peace Lutheran is a member of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America. Please follow this link to learn more about what we believe.


A new mission church in the Morris area was suggested by Rev. Leonard G. Hinderaker in 1965. In 1973 a steering committee was formed and a 2.6 acre site in the Mission Hills subdivision was purchased. October of 1973 brought a call to Rev. Harold I. Nelson to become the organizing pastor. The first worship service was held December 2, 1973 at the Morris High School. Baptized membership at the end of the year was 187. Planning for a permanent facility began in 1974. The first worship service in the new building was held June 22, 1975 with a dedication service on December 7, 1975.

Rev. James. E. Reents became our second pastor on November 11, 1979. In 1984 a new addition including an entryway, office and five classrooms was added. As the membership continued to grow, it became apparent we needed an additional pastor and a larger facility. Rev. Charles V. Olson joined the staff as associate pastor in November 1990. On May 15, 1994 was the ground breaking for the large addition to the building. This included a new sanctuary, kitchen, fellowship hall and Sunday School rooms. The dedication service was held on August 12, 1995.

On October 28, 2001, Rev. Jeffrey K. Chubb became pastor of Peace Lutheran Church.

Pastor Lu Cantrell joined Peace as the senior pastor in June of 2013 and was ordained into the Ministry of Word and Sacrament in 2011. Pastor Lu graduated with a Bachelor of Science in Vocal Music Education from Eastern Illinois University and a Master of Divinity from the Lutheran School of Theology in Chicago. Pastor Lu currently serves as the president of the Morris Ministerial Association, is a member of the Board of Directors for Grundy Area P.A.D.S., and the volunteer Chaplain for the Channahon Fire Protection District. Pastor Lu is married to her husband Jim, has 3 adult children, 4 grandchildren, and lives in Channahon, IL. In her spare time, Pastor Lu loves NASCAR, wine tasting, reading, and showing her two purebred Maine Coon cats.


Rev. Luanne K. Cantrell - Pastor

Michele Lorenzen - Youth Coordinator

Scott Larson - Organist

Sara Jepsen Organist/Pianist

Beth Bullard - Administrative Assistant

Wendy Rossi - Sunday School Coordinator


Executive Team/Officers

  • Eric Peterson President and Co-Liaison to the Christian Ed Team
  • Jana Trofimchuck Vice President and Co-Liaison to Outreach/Inreach Team
  • Gil Jones Secretary and Co-Liaison to Property Team
  • Tom Christ Treasurer and Co-Liaison to the Stewardship/Finance Team
  • Pastor Lu Cantrell Co-Liaison to Stewardship/Finance and Worship/Music Teams

Members At Large

  • Debi Hopkins Co-Liaison to Worship/Music Team
  • Bill Kirchoff Co-Liaison to the Property Team
  • Michele Lorenzen Co-Liaison to Outreach/Inreach Team
  • Aaron Walker Co-Liaison to Christian Ed Team