A new mission church in the Morris area was suggested by Rev. Leonard G. Hinderaker in 1965. In 1973 a steering committee was formed and a 2.6 acre site in the Mission Hills subdivision was purchased. October of 1973 brought a call to Rev. Harold I. Nelson to become the organizing pastor. The first worship service was held December 2, 1973 at the Morris High School. Baptized membership at the end of the year was 187. Planning for a permanent facility began in 1974. The first worship service in the new building was held June 22, 1975 with a dedication service on December 7, 1975.

Rev. James. E. Reents became our second pastor on November 11, 1979. In 1984 a new addition including an entryway, office and five classrooms was added. As the membership continued to grow, it became apparent we needed an additional pastor and a larger facility. Rev. Charles V. Olson joined the staff as associate pastor in November 1990. On May 15, 1994 was the ground breaking for the large addition to the building. This included a new sanctuary, kitchen, fellowship hall and Sunday School rooms. The dedication service was held on August 12, 1995.

On October 28, 2001, Rev. Jeffrey K. Chubb became pastor of Peace Lutheran Church.

Pastor Lu Cantrell joined Peace as the senior pastor in June of 2013 and was ordained into the Ministry of Word and Sacrament in 2011.